Snow and Ice in the South + Award

12 Jan

Some of you who live in the south may already know this but – we have been snowed in since Sunday night!  And by snowed in, I mean we have about 7 inches of snow.  I know it is not much but when you live in the south, an inch of snow is very dangerous because we don’t have snow plows, enough contractors or enough salt to make the roads passable so we are all stuck at home.  Most offices are beginning to open today (Wednesday) but they warn you to drive with extreme caution. 

This sort of reminds me of what happened in early December, when we got a few inches of rain and then temperatures plummeted to below freezing within hours.  The roads got so icy and dangerous that over 1000 cars crashed in the metro Atlanta area.  I drove past twelve crashes and witnessed two.  As for me, I credit being in the north for the past nine years for helping me stay sane during the four and a half hours it took to get me home.  It took my co-worker seven hours to get home.  It would not have been so bad if I did not start running out of gas and had to turn off my car.  Imagine sitting in a freezing car for two hours in “traffic.”

On a positive note, Nitty Gritty tagged me as a Versatile and Stylish blogger.

*preens*  I know.  I am awesome….lol.

Anyhue,  I am supposed to say seven things about myself and then tag 15 other bloggers.  So here it goes:

1) I have to constantly remind myself that everything is okay and that the world is not going to collapse because I forgot to buy detergent.

2) I hate crying for any reason.  It is such a waste of energy and emotionally draining.

3) I believe my 30s are shaping up to be the best years of my life.

4) I honestly think that God finally took me out of the dog house and gave me back everything I lost.  Very “Job” from the Bible.

5) I have a healthy fear and distrust of religion.

6) I can’t stand insincerity.  Just speak your mind dammit and let me know where you stand.

7) I love to solve problems.  This can be a good thing or a  bad thing depending on the situation.

So now I award the following with the Stylish and Versatile blogger award:

Ginger

Ego Du Jour

Sugabelly

Taynment

Mamuje

GNG

MPB

A Witty Fool

Myne Whitman

Caramel Delight

Helene

Diane

Omosi

11 Responses to “Snow and Ice in the South + Award”

  1. Ibhade January 12, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    Yep! you are..hence i tagged you.

    Am distrustful about people who are so religious & i like people to say their mind, so as to know where i stand with them also!

  2. taynement January 12, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    Awww shucks! Guess I’ll get to it.

  3. Nice Anon January 13, 2011 at 1:02 am #

    LOL@ 7 inches of snow. Well like you said it is the south. Happy new year lady

  4. EDJ January 13, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    Thanks for the award! 15 people you said? Hmm…

    I hope you enjoyed the days off because of the snow. Although I imagine after a while it gets a bit much. We had a lot of snow up here as well, although we are much more used to it here in NY.

  5. Mamuje January 13, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Ewo, my sister…I have been having writer’s block for ages. Now that you’ve tagged me…Hmm…I have been tagged by a few people too.

  6. Mamuje January 13, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Oh dear, I have been having writer’s block. Will do my best to write something.

  7. Myne Whitman January 13, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    Thanks so much for the award, just finding out about it. Happy New Year to you too…

  8. Omosi January 14, 2011 at 3:06 am #

    Done!

  9. 2cute4u January 14, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    Happy New you to you..
    I would be glad if I was snowed in.. Really..

  10. Ginger January 15, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Thanks LL. and of course you are stylish and versatile.

    4.5hours on the road? that must have been an ordeal. Hope the snow has eased off now..

    I feel you on #7. Some problems should just be allowed to be..

  11. Caramel Delight January 24, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Same thing happened to us in London, we were totally grounded with about 8 inches. They kept saying we would be prepared but we were not! Thanks for tagging me, I only just saw this because I was catching up on my back dated reading.

Leave a Reply

