Food Friday

14 Jan

I have been winging it lately with food. Rather than relying on recipes, I just start with a main ingredient and just do whatever.  It has been interesting to say the least.

For instance, I bought beef strips with no idea what I was going to do with it.  Then some marinade, some soy sauce and a few veggies later, I had this:

I went naija old school with my jollof rice by adding a classic salad (it reminds me of my mom when she says, “saah-laadi na jollof rice ka anyi je ri n’efife mbosi uka” meaning “We are having salad and jollof rice on Sunday afternoon”:

Now this Avartsy Cooking oldie with pork chops was really good.  I really simplified it by just marinating the chops with Mojo Criollo and shallow-pan frying.  I strongly believe this dish contributed to Turtle agreeing to go ring window-shopping this weekend.  Booom!

As for dining out, some gal pals of mine and I went out to the Victorian Tea Room downtown.  I love the quiche there but it does not hold a candle to mine.  Yeah, I am bragging about my Mediterranean Frittata.

On a queasy note, Turtle ate THIS raw meat medium rare steak during his mom’s birthday dinner.  Gross.  Why can’t westerners just cook their meat thoroughly???????

I hope you all have full bellies this weekend.

Cheers!

14 Responses to “Food Friday”

  1. 2cute4u January 14, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Wow.. NOW i’M SALIVATING…

  2. 2cute4u January 14, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    i’M HUNGRY!

  3. Joxy January 14, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    So am I. I like my steaks mooing if possible, if not, then medium rare is as cooked as I like it. When I do a roast, my peeps eat the outer (more cooked) bits. The inner bits are mine. That steak looks amazing 🙂

  4. Nice Anon January 14, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    I should come and move in with you. no body in my house seems to wanna cook these days

  5. taynement January 14, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    Umm hellooooo, everyone’s talking about the food. Lucid mentioned ring shopping and even had booom! at the end, which means excitement. That’s huge!

    (umm is it just me?)

    • Joxy January 14, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

      Taynement, you’re right. Missed it completely. Quite huge. Rosie, anything you wanna tell us?

  6. Jibola January 14, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    I say an amen to the full bellies prayer! But oh my sha, thanks for this post *side eye* *Gets up to raid the fridge for a midnight snack*

  7. Mamuje January 15, 2011 at 4:08 am #

    I love my meat RARE. There is just no other way to have it…. last night In had a medium rare lamb and it was just so pink and delicious. *slurp*

  8. Lohi January 15, 2011 at 4:18 am #

    Oh wow!!!!! I love it all!!!!!! i’m hungry..:(

  9. myne Whitman January 15, 2011 at 4:49 am #

    Window shopping only? Or you decided on one? I like that BOOM there, lol.

    What a throwback with that jollof rice, yummy!

  10. Ginger January 15, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Taynement Thank you oo. That was the only thing I saw + eating dinner with Turtle’s Mom. e don finish!!!!

    but wait…….did we miss the proposal??
    anyways *singing ‘Come and join me sing Alleluia, Jehovah Jireh has done Lucid well….’

  11. Ginger January 15, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    The food looks delish as usual. I still haven’t gotten the hang of steak – be it rare, medium or overdone. It just looks like a slab of meat to me. Suya size and thinness is more like it.

  12. one3snapshot January 21, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    Oh joy!!!!! Ring shopping!!!
    BOOM!

  13. Caramel Delight January 24, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    I knew I shouldn’t have scrolled down!!!!

Leave a Reply

