Vals Day Rain Check? Really?

15 Feb

We just celebrated  another commercialized quasi-holiday where florists and candy makers are able to make enough money to buy a second home.

Turtle took me out for dinner on Sunday.  We went to a restaurant we had always wanted to check out and order baby back ribs.

“Let’s get dessert too,” he said.

“I don’t eat dessert, you know that.  Too many calories.”

“Let’s just get dessert.  We never get dessert.  Let’s make an exception,” he insisted.

We ordered dinner and then he said he forgot his wallet in the car.  My eyes followed him as he made a wrong turn to another side of the restaurant that was obviously not the main entrance.

I began to wonder if he was planning to put anything in the coconutter he wanted to order.  My mind suddenly went a little crazy.  My goodness, I thought…will he propose officially??????

He came back and sat down.  We ordered a pitcher of Yeungling. Soon dinner arrived.

Now- when it comes to ribs, I don’t play.  I eat with my hands and make sure there are no meat left on the bones.  In fact, I am so sloppy when it comes to ribs.  After he insisted on ordering dessert, I decided not to take chances.  If he was gonna propose, I did not want him to slip the ring on a finger slathered with bbq sauce.  So I used SILVERWARE to eat my baby backs.

“Why are you using silverware?” he asked.

“Oh nothing…just wanted to keep it clean today.”

We finished dinner.  Nothing.  Then he ordered dessert.  To go.

I won’t lie. I was a tad disappointed.  I never knew I would be one of those women who wanted to be surprised in the middle of dinner, screaming – and crying and then having everyone applaud when she says yes.  I shrugged it off….after all, he had shelled out almost 70 bucks for dinner – and I had a pretty good buzz from the yingi.

When we got home, I decided to give him a little Vals day treat and paraded around in a sexy little oufit.  And by outfit, I mean nothing but my underoo.

“Oooh,” he said, momentarily taking his eyes of the Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood video game he was playing.  “Can I take a rain check?  Say like in three hours?”

Are you kidding me?  I thought to myself.  I put on my PJs and went to bed.  If he woke me up, he was going to get kneed in the groin.

The next day – on Vals day – he sent me these:

And these:

Annoying one day, sweet as can be the next.

20 Responses to “Vals Day Rain Check? Really?”

  1. taynement February 15, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Sniff Sniff. When i “met” you, the mere mention of the m word broke you out in hives and now you got “dissapointed”. Yippee! Can”t wait for the official story. I am so crashing, anonymous identity or not! hehee. don’t mind me, I am on crack this morning.

    • lucidlilith February 15, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

      *sigh* I honestly have days that am like ,”yay, am single and can do whatever the f**k I want.”

      And there are days I am like, “i want to be married.”

      It’s a yoyo I tell you…

  2. anoda phase February 15, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    lol…

  3. Tori February 15, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    LOL.

  4. Mamuje February 15, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Don’t worry, he will propose. It can’t be far off now.

    • lucidlilith February 15, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

      I am not that worried…I just hate surprises. He is the type to make one big embarrassing gesture … I would hate that.

  5. Neefemi February 15, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    awwwwwwwwww Soon and soon

  6. Vera Ezimora February 15, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Sorry. I think I stumbled on a wrong blog. This cannot be Lucid’s blog. As in ….???? You’re disappointed by not getting a proposal? Tori don baje.

    Meanwhile, I like the bear 🙂

    …. And I wanna come for the wedding, too. Just an FYI

    • lucidlilith February 17, 2011 at 10:35 am #

      i am not sure you want to come to my wedding for me. You will just be there for the jollof rice and chicken.

  7. EDJ February 15, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    I too would like to come for the wedding. In fact, you will have to set up a “bloggers table” during the reception.

    Your gifts are tres cute!

    Lol @ rain check.

    • lucidlilith February 17, 2011 at 10:36 am #

      True talk about the bloggers table. In fact you guys might outnumber my relatives sef….he he he he…

  8. Lohi February 15, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    hahaha I thought so too Vera!..LMAO! Awwww! soon!

  9. Adanne/One3snapshot February 16, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    check your lucidlilith gmail

    • lucidlilith February 17, 2011 at 10:36 am #

      awesome!

      btw – i took your advice and is having my sister pick up the back for me at the lagos store!

  10. myne Whitman February 16, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    Lovely Valentine gifts! Isn’t the unpredictability part of the sweetness of a relationship? Rain check! The cheek! LOL…

    • lucidlilith February 17, 2011 at 10:37 am #

      Tell me about it! Some people are just plain spoiled!

  11. Gbemi February 17, 2011 at 12:41 am #

    aww… I’m pretty positive it’ll be sooner than you think… Rain check? like, seriously hahaha
    Fist time here and I like.. I flew here from you VD comment over @ NG’s

    • lucidlilith February 17, 2011 at 10:37 am #

      Welcome and thanks for commenting!

  12. Ginger February 18, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    Is it you Lucid? the love bug finally got to you eh? cackling loudly. I’m almost happy it didnt happen esp cos you were so sure :)..where is the surprise? I trust Turtle. Hope he makes it big, embarrassing and unpredictable….

  13. Tee February 18, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    Awwwww…at least he made up for it

    I know the see-finish feeling can hurt…India Arie-Reflections song came into my head at that your last line…e de happun…Glad vals day was great for you

    I want to come for wedding too o…I love your stories

Leave a Reply

