Another Food Friday!

18 Feb

Okay people…last week was one for firsts….

I made this Sausage, Sweet Potato and Kale soup, which I nicknamed The Great Depression Soup.  I got it off a weekly supermarket magazine, which is supposedly soup a lady’s grandmother made when things were tough.  It is really simple to make and with cheap ingredients.  The best part is that it actually fills you up – without making you too heavy. A good lunch or late night dinner.  All you need is the above mentioned ingredients and half a cup of oatmeal.

I made my very first roast chicken!  I got the glaze mix all ready:

Got my spices:

Got the chicken:

Massaged the chicken with oil and spices  (I gotta admit…massaging a dead chicken feels so weirdly necro):

And then viola!  A vegetarian’s nightmare:

Although it tasted really good, I’d say if you don’t have the time to be all Martha Stewart-ty just buy one at the grocery store.

I also tried this Mac and Cheese and Broccoli dish using shell pasta and cheeze its…

I melted the cheeze it and milk:

Mixed in the pasta and broccoli and placed in a dish topped off with shredded yellow cheese:

Baked and you have an awesome side for the chicken:

May your bellies be full this weekend!

10 Responses to “Another Food Friday!”

  1. taynement February 18, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    You omitted Turtle’s comments. They are usually funny.

    • lucidlilith February 22, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

      He liked the Kale soup. He even gave some to his co-worker. But he complained that I ate all the dark meat in the chicken.

  2. culturesoup February 18, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    As a little friend of mine would say, yum, yum! Roast chicken is one of the best things ever.

    I definitely prefer homemade to shop-bought because i find they tend to under season chicken. I think it should be criminal to waste a chicken by cooking it bland so i’d rather use my blend of spices. It looks to me like you used rosemary and thyme (great combo for chicken). You may already know this but here’s a tip i love: some butter with spices under the skin in the breat area makes for a very tender and juicy bird :).

    • lucidlilith February 22, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

      That is such a good idea! Next time I will use butter instead of oil and use that technique!

  3. Ginger February 18, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Inbox the kale and sausage recipe pretty please. I can never think of what to do with spuds except fry it.
    And what the heck is cheeze it? some American package?

    Thanks for making me hanker for roast chicken…..so unfair..

    • lucidlilith February 22, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

      Check ur email dear.

      Also – cheeze it is a canned cheese dip. I don’t know if you will find it in the UK.

  4. dhjax February 18, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Looks like it tasted great.. Suddenly hungry at 11.43pm.. Sigh..

    • lucidlilith February 22, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      Sorry…..you should be asleep though…

  5. myne Whitman February 20, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    I usually get my roast chicken at the mart, I only broil when I’m not doing whole chicken. The mac and cheese look very tasty.

    • lucidlilith February 22, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      Yeah…I really like how it came out. I think I will try broiling next time.

Leave a Reply

