Virus and Pepper Soup Diet

16 Mar

Spring Break is here!  And I am only saying that because it means that I am less than seven weeks away from graduating!  Yay!

I had a bout of some virus last week.  I did not help matters by going out to party with friends the Saturday before last so that when Monday rolled around, I could barely function.  I finally took a day and a half off work and just laid down most of the time.  My sister made the awesomest fish pepper soup which was all I stomach.  Best part of being on a soup diet?  Dropping three pounds in two days.  I was so happy that I continued eating minimal food – which was not so healthy on my part because last Saturday I almost passed out from low blood sugar.  However – when Monday rolled around, I stepped on the scale and boom – I lost another three pounds.  So now I am just watching what I eat and tracking my meals on My Fitness Pal.  I try to eat a meal and a half a day since I spend so much of my day sitting in commute or sitting at work, I figure I don’t use a lot of energy any way.  I won’t lie – it is hard.  But I love seeing my scale needle going down and down.  It is just so ….. great.

On another note, I had been spending so much time taking care of my family that I forgot to take care of poor Turtle.  So on Sunday I made him two of his favorites.  Stuffed Pork Chops and Stuffed Peppers.  I put a new spin on the peppers and added cheese:

It was a hit….after he complained I used too much tomato sauce.

16 Responses to “Virus and Pepper Soup Diet”

  1. Adanne/One3snapshot March 16, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    I’m just recovering from a bout of flu as well. Guess it’s the season. I’ve been using my fitness pal as well (so amazing that they have pounded yam and egusi listed on there lol) but it’s a little frustrating because I keep getting errors on when I try to add meals. Are you tracking it strictly on your phone or via the web as well?

    • lucidlilith March 16, 2011 at 10:26 am #

      I track both on the web and on my phone. I hardly get errors. Ha ha…I try to add as many Nigerian foods as possible. Sometimes I find them, sometimes I add them. Breaking down the calorie count is so time consuming because I have to take each ingredient and divide by the number of servings etc. I am a lost cause….being a foodie can be hard sometimes.

      BTW – I got my teeeeeee. My sister is soooo jealous!

  2. EDJ March 16, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Ahh kpele oh about your virus!

    I actually have a MyFitness Pal account that I hardly ever use but you have given me the motivation to dust if off!

    We shall see what happens.

    • lucidlilith March 16, 2011 at 11:58 am #

      Thanks. I am actually contemplating adding strength training exercises to my 30 min cardio. Since I had some serious stress fractures I have been unable to run much which is why i am so stoked about my weight loss!

  3. jollof March 16, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Didn’t know you were a daredevil in the kitchen! Turtle is a lucky guy 😀 Hope you’re much better now. It’s been a while…

    • lucidlilith March 17, 2011 at 9:13 am #

      lol @ daredevil… I don’t think so…not with the way he complains sometimes…he is sort of picky.

  4. BBB March 16, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    shhh dont tell anyone but thats the best part about being sick, i fantasize about how much weight id lose heheheh

    • lucidlilith March 17, 2011 at 9:13 am #

      Guuurrrllll….i hear you. I was so happy I had no appetite.

  5. Mamuje March 16, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Sorry about your health babe. I feel you on the weight loss, once you lose the pounds you just keep being motivated….. those stuffed peppers look delish.

    • lucidlilith March 17, 2011 at 9:14 am #

      Thanks dear.

  6. taynement March 17, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    Hope you are feeling better. Lucky you on the weight loss though!

  7. Ginger March 19, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    Different strokes for different folks. I wish i could take on the pounds you’ve lost :-(. I feel terribly okporoko-ish.

    • lucidlilith March 21, 2011 at 10:37 am #

      I hate you.

  8. Ginger March 19, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Good for ya LL. It’s such a diff strokes for diff folks scene. I wish i could take on the pounds you’ve lost. School stress has got me lookin terribly okporoko-ish :-(. Turtle’s has bn usurped by family huh? He shud deal wit it. He’s hoarded u for too long;-)

    • lucidlilith March 21, 2011 at 10:38 am #

      LOL at hoarding. We can’t wait to get our lives back jo.

Leave a Reply

