The French Connection

22 Mar

There has been quite a few studies trying to answer the question of why French women are so skinny.  They eat tons of cheese, carbs and drink wine like its going out of style, yet you hardly find French women overweight or obese.  I found a few articles that inferred that French lifestyle was what enabled women to retain their figure.  They have good public transportation so they tend to walk a lot (in high heels for that matter), they take hours to eat a meal, and they don’t work out.  Besides, the French abhor processed foods and eat a lot of meals made from fresh ingredients.

Over the last few weeks, I experimented to see if this really works:

1) Eat food for pleasure:  Here you are supposed to eat slowly over an hour or two.  Believe me, this is harder than it sounds.  Who has time????  But I am happy to say that I have graduated from wolfing my lunch in 10 minutes to stretching it out to a comfortable 30 mins.  I tell you, it feels so much better.  I am not bloated or stuffed and I don’t get hungry until like 8 p.m.  This I would say really works.

2) Small portion size: Okay.  I am not a big eater and I naturally eat small portions but I took this up a  notch and have been carefully measuring my meals.  I only eat on salad plates and try to stick to one meal at lunch and half a portion at dinner.  I skip breakfast except for coffee and redbull.  This is truly very hard to do because if you are not used to this, you may suffer from low blood sugar for a few days and get light headed but watch the belly fat melt away!  Probably the toughest habit to stick to because we are the nation of supersizers.

3) Red wine with meals:  Not a bad idea for dinner but do not try this at work!

4) Food quality or quantity: Basically this means that you should buy fresh ingredients and avoid canned or processed foods.  I tried it for one day.  No go.  I don’t have time to make tomato sauce from scratch or mince my own garlic so I buy the canned version.  I have a full time job, school and goodness knows what else.  Maybe when I become a housewife.

5) Home-cooking tradition:  Done.

6) No Snacking or light healthy snacks:  I either snack on one cheese string, handful of almonds or beef jerky.  Protein and nuts.  Not bad.

7) Choose water over soda: Done (sometimes)

8 ) Walk: Since French women don’t usually have gym memberships it is safe to say that the body was not designed for high impact boot camp type workouts.  Gentle natural walking seems to work for them.  I like endorphins so I prefer to sweat a little.

9) Self Discipline: Don’t indulge and don’t deny yourself anything.  Eat whatever you want but eat a little of it.

 

I have to say that all in all….this has not been bad.  If anything I am more aware of how much I eat at any given time. If this does not make you skinny, at least it won’t make you fat.  Try it and let me know what you think.

10 Responses to “The French Connection”

  1. Clara March 22, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    hi, i’m a long-time lurker, this is my first ever comment on here. so anyways,

    1) already doing this..i’m an annoyingly slow eater

    2) trying to reduce portion sizes too. my problem is i’ll eat HUGE amounts, then go for another 24-36 hrs before the next meal. so not healthy 😦

    3) I’m a nurse, so definitely can not try this for lunch, breakfast or even dinner especially when i’m working…ahem!

    8) i try to walk everywhere at work. easy, since i’m a community nurse with no car, but i’m so lazy on my days off

    working on 4,5,6,7 and 9…i don’t need to lose any weight, just need toning up and finally getting rid of the acne that forever makes me look like a young teenager!

    hope this works for both of us 🙂

    • lucidlilith March 23, 2011 at 10:49 am #

      Thanks for visiting and making your first comment! Amen to toning up. Especially as you get older….I have started lifting more weights to get my flabby arms in check.

      Portion sizes can be tricky too. Sometimes a small plate of food can still be a good 500 calories!

  2. BBB March 22, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    has it been working for you?
    I think i should start eating on salad plates, i am naturally a small eater though, large helpings of food scare me lol

    • lucidlilith March 23, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      I think it has been working for me especially for my midsection. I have lost about 8 pounds overall and currently maintaining my weight at 150…If I can hit 140 this year I will be a happy woman.

  3. Mamuje March 23, 2011 at 4:32 am #

    I believe every single part of this article. My weakness is soda. I heart coca-cola…..I drink it at any time of the day…… I also eat rather fast, but I want to try slow eating, all the slow eaters I know are on the slim side. I can’t guarantee make tomatoes from scratch o….but all in all I will take heed and let you know of my progress.

    Happy eating….

    • lucidlilith March 23, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      Nice…lets compare notes in a month or so.

  4. A Witty Fool March 23, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    I am goin to have to try this. I have tried EVERYTHING else and nothing seems to work, although my sister has for the past three weeks dropped every type my liquid, (sodas, liquors, juice etc) from her diet n even though she still eats like a pig, she has already dropped over 10 lbs.
    I already walk everywhere cuz I love the few moments of quiet i get while wlking and I eat veryvery slowly, always have. Pray 4 me, I need 2 lose like 200 lbs!

  5. lucidlilith March 24, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    Let me know how it goes!

  6. Vera Ezimora March 24, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Try eating in an hour or two indeed. *INSERT VERY LOUD HISS* Do you know how many blog posts I could have typed in an hour or two?! LOL. Okay, fine, I’ll try that slow eating thing. I tend to take my food and rush into the car. Imagine that. So not healthy. Will try everything you mentioned up there…. except a few.

    I shall not walk in my heels. Mba! Shoes are expensive, and I love mine too much.

    I shall not do that red wine every night thing. Sounds nice (and classy), but not my forte.

    I cannot do everything fresh either. Ah, ah. Something has to give oh.

    Bia, is it that you didn’t get my e-mail, or is it that you have not felt the need to acknowledge receipt of it?

  7. Ginger March 24, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Using her spartan-like shield to protect her face from the hate!
    1) i wolf down my food in 7mins max. I will only attempt this cause I want to be a french ‘Lady’.
    2) Small portion ni, small portion ko. you want the worms in my stomach to revolt and chop my intestine??
    3)I don’t like red wine 😦
    4 & 5 I try
    6) Tell them to stop making blueberry muffins.
    7) But water has no taste na!
    8)Mostly 9) Basically I have no self discipline but I am still skinny. Kilode?

    Anyway dear, here’s wishing you a brand slim you!

Leave a Reply

