Skip the gym. Get an antidepressant.

11 Apr

About 10 days ago, I went to see my neurologist.  We chatted about my neuropathy and he made notes about the changes in my condition.  I  told him I had stopped taking my gabapentin due to weight gain and fatigue.  So he said he would put me on cymbalta – an anti depressant also used to treat diabetic neuropathy.  I told him I did not like antidepressants and was going to duke it out with him until he said – with a twinkle in his eye -that it would make me lose weight.  You know me, anything weight loss has my attention.   Armed with a seven-day sample, I willingly decided to try this medication.

First Week Pros/Cons (However you see it)

You poop a lot.  Not the diarrhea type…just the my stomach can’t handle having any contents right now.

You hate the sight of food. Seriously.

When you think of food you get nauseated.

Since you are barely consuming 1000 calories a day, you are generally weak and tired.

You have absolutely no energy to exercise…not that you need it anyway.

Turtle is beginning to worry I will stop cooking permanently

Second Week  (mostly pros all the way)

My seven-day sample is depleted and I find out my prescription costs $25 with insurance for a 30-day supply

I step on the scale and think it is all worth it.

I am down from 150lbs to 146lbs

My nausea is significantly reduced

Food costs are way down

I have to drink a beer before dinner to get any kind of appetite.

I have to drink another beer to keep my food down

My meals no longer taste like sawdust

I no longer unbutton my pants when I sit down

I no longer have belly fat.

#WIN

As for whether or not it works as a pain medication….I’d give it a 6 out of 10.  For depression, i really have not noticed any difference since I was not taking it for depression.  I can’t wait for 2013 when the generics come out.

6 Responses to “Skip the gym. Get an antidepressant.”

  1. taynement April 11, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Phew I am back as #1 stalker. STop throwing your weight loss in our faces *weeps*. But, eventually the beer is going to counteract no?

  2. oohjay April 11, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    I think I should trick my GP in prescribing me some.. those weight loss numbers are impressive to a layman like me o…

  3. Mamuje April 11, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Huh? I probably won’t be able to handle it. Well the weight loss seems good but let’s know how you feel after 30 days…for me I probably couldn’t handle not going to the gym. I even look forward to it…,it’s a shame my weight has plateaued though. So I have changed my diet and exercise regime.

  4. Ginger April 12, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    That was some #winning drug LL.
    You want to make blogville weight watchers druggists abi? see advertisement!

  5. Lohi April 12, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    oh wow!!!!! hmmm I want!! I want!

  6. Ginger April 25, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    Public Service Announcement

    I am missng Lucidlilith, fats warts and all. Where is she?

Leave a Reply

