Goings on and such.

26 Apr

I apologize.  I never thought I would be a blog abandoner.  Truth is, I had been in a weird no man’s land.  Nothing was going on, I was kinda going through the motions and waiting to exhale … literally.  I hate to bore readers so I figured I would wait for something interesting to happen.  I am still waiting.

So I submitted my first draft of my Bella Naija case study without any input from Ms. Eze herself.  Yeah, I get it, she is busy trying to run a new company so no qualms.  To my delight, the feedback I got was very positive!  I expected to see red marks up and across the case with major suggestions and changes but my supervisor said I did a great job and wanted my summation.  Two more weeks and I am a free woman.  I see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Last night, Turtle and I were watching a James Cameron documentary on the Exodus on the History Channel.  Turtle asked, “So what exactly is ‘Exodus’ ?”

“Departure, leaving as in when the Jews or if you want to be politically correct, the Israelites left the land of Egypt after years and years of slavery and wandered around the desert because Moses refused to ask for directions. If I Moses’ wife had led the way, they would have made it to the promised land faster.”

“That is blasphemy!” he said as I started to laugh.  “Why would anyone take orders from a woman?”

I gave him serious side eye.  Then he added, “unless she had seriously big boobs, then I wouldn’t mind.”

Why am I with this guy again?

I have a really long commute to work so to save on gas money, I usually carpool with another fellow twice a week.  He is one of those academic types that is into Medieval English, French and Occital literature.  Don’t ask.  I don’t even know what those are.  Anyhue, we talk politics, current affairs, life issues and other things during our commute and the conversation can get really cerebral sometimes.  This morning he asked, “do you usually think about getting in an accident when you drive?  I do sometimes that is why I am very alert when I drive. Do you think about the different ways it could be possible to die in an accident?”

“Yeah, I think about it once a while but I try not to think or vocalize negative thoughts or comments because I am superstitious.  I believe you invite evil when you think or say bad things.”

This is true.  When I was younger, my mom told me I have a knack for saying things and having them come true.  Especially bad things.  I have actually gotten mad at people, wished them dead and then boom.  They drop.  As a child, she told me to watch my mouth and be careful with my words, especially after she was attacked by armed robbers on a trip.  I think she personally blamed me because I was upset she refused to take me on that trip and I must have said something bad.

Any way to cut the long story short, this carpool guy and I talked a bit about my “superstition.”  About a minute later, his phone rang.  It was his wife.  She had been in a fender bender.  I don’t think that worried him too much until 20 minutes later we drove by an accident that happened minutes earlier.  A car had hit another car while making a left turn and flipped the other car over on its side in a ditch.  There were people still trapped inside the vehicle.  He looked at me as we drove by and said, “you are beginning to freak me out.  From now on, I will only talk birds and clouds around you.”

I laughed and told him it was a coincidence.  The last thing I need is an oyinbo guy that thinks I am involved in voodoo.

12 Responses to “Goings on and such.”

  1. Taynement April 26, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    Can you be happy with me and wish me financial blessing or it only works if it’s something bad?

    When is your trip?

    You’ve been very bad…blogwise.

    • lucidlilith April 26, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

      I try to think good thoughts about everybody but for some reason I only pay attention and notice the bad things coming true.

      *prays hard* You will get a raise in Jesus’ name, amen!

      I leave for S. Korea in exactly one month! So excited!!!

      I will try to keep blogging no matter how dry the topic.

  2. Ibhade April 26, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    Happy for you about your dissertation & graduating in 2 weeks time…lol @ the exodus explanation…pls let me know anytime i offend you, so that i can apologize profusely…& anytime i need money, i would give you a call …agree?…..:)))

    • lucidlilith April 26, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

      Ha ha…Nitty Gritty…don’t you know that you the equal opportunity offender of blogville? I never take anything you say to heart. Your opinion is your opinion. I love brutally honest (not honesty in a snippy nasty way) people.

  3. Ginger April 26, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    I know I begged you to come back but haba, not to tell us say you get winsh.

    fear don catch me!

    • lucidlilith April 26, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

      ah, I no get winsh oh. I think everybody has a bit of karma, some people just have stronger feelings that manifest … trust me, I scare myself sometimes that is why i am careful with negative thoughts concerning other people.

  4. Tee April 26, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Kai…This your post just sent chills down my spine

    I hope Turtle is kiaful around you…lol…I def wouldn’t want you mad at me

    Yay for dissertation completion… take care…x

    • lucidlilith April 26, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

      Abeg Tee … everybody…don’t be afraid of me. I pray for everyone. Even my enemies. God watches my back. I don’t need to resort to ish.

      Thanks for the wishes … yay graduation!

  5. one3snapshot April 26, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Can I have you say a few things about some of my exes? there’s this one in particular… lol
    that sounds terrible. lol

    Congratulations on graduating!! How long did it take you? I just started…it seems like a really long road.

    • lucidlilith April 26, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

      LMAO! chei una don take me do baba alawo!

      My MBA took two years to complete. Boy time goes by fast.

  6. CaramelD April 27, 2011 at 6:49 am #

    Yeahhhhhh! For your thesis. I know how hard that madness is. LMAO@ Moses looking for directions. You are not serious.

    Errrrmm shebi you no be winch? All Vampire Diaries and stuff lol!!! From time to time I dream about bad things before they happen. It really sucks.

  7. EDJ April 27, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    About not wanting to share “mundane-ness” with people, I completely understand! I feel that way about my blog sometimes.

    Congrats on your final semester! Are you ready for your trip too? All the best!

Leave a Reply

