Trying new things Food Friday

29 Apr

Oh my goodness, the last few days have been bizarre – with all the storms and tornadoes hitting the parts of the South.  I think God was looking out for me because I drove into tail end of the storm not realizing the danger I was heading into.  By the time I got to work, the entire place was  like a war zone.  Hundred year old trees were snapped in half like twigs and some yanked off their roots.  Some people had trees fall on their vehicles.  Somehow, living in the south feels more dangerous than living in the wintery midwest.  Scary stuff.

I have to admit, ever since I started taking Cymbalta, my tastebuds have gone haywire.  I have cravings for only spicy and salty food.  I try to keep cooking as much as I can although I hardly ever eat most of what I cook.

Lately I have been trying new things.  I learned how to caramelize onions.  It took me two tries to get it (almost) right.

I tried to make Carrot souffle.  Neither Turtle nor I liked it.

I also tried to make ewedu for the first time.  I looooooved it.  I don’t know why I never did this before.  Simply delicious … probably now my favorite over Egusi soup.

I nostalgically made an old favorite.  Sausage rigatoni.  Always good.

That’s all folks!  Have a blessed weekend.

4 Responses to “Trying new things Food Friday”

  1. Ginger April 29, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    I like Ewedu too. Simple cooking huh?
    Recently I had soup but no starchy stuff to go with it, so I tried using Quaker Oats as wheat flour. Turned out nice :)…

    Sorry to hear about your troubles with Mother Nature. Keep safe you hear?

  2. one3snapshot May 3, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    you should try making tuo shinkafa and miankuka (sp) it is really tasty! sorry I don’t have the recipe but if you find it please pass it on.

    • one3snapshot May 3, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

      btw – I didn’t realize you were in the vicinity were the storm hit! thank God you’re okay.

  3. Mamuje May 11, 2011 at 1:15 am #

    That ewedu looks rather divine sha.

Leave a Reply

