My busy month of May.

19 May

Phew!

It has been a busy month of May!  Graduation was a blast!  We partied from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. and ended up at Waffle House for lots of greasy food.  To say we were inebriated is an understatement.  My classmates kinda knew we would have a wild time so we made a “no cameras allowed” pact.  With good reason.  Most of what we were up from 11 pm to 1 am was probably illegal.  Good times.

Warrior Dash was awesome.  This year’s race was so much harder and so much fun.  They added a heat tunnel, lots of ropes courses, junkyard with old cars and broken glass, a spider web of twines (where I spent a good five minutes trying to get out of), this 12 foot wall and a water slide which was so much fun … I went down screaming “whooo-hooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

And of course Turtle was waiting at the finish line with a surprise.  He got me.  I had no idea what he was up to.  In fact, I had just mentioned to a co-worker that I was glad we had no major events coming up (besides the dash which he pretended he did not really want to go to) and that I was safe from any embarrassing proposals in public places.  I think I must have said, “oh my God!!!” fifteen times before saying yes.  I have never been that surprised and embarrassed in my entire life.  And I had never been that happy either.  We are hoping to get hitched in July, 2012.

I love my ring.  I had always told him not to buy me diamonds.  Ever. For one, they are not rare. And there are so many moral issues concerning conflict diamonds but what gets me the most is that the continent that produces 80 percent of the world’s diamonds is also the poorest.  What gives?

Instead, I opted for a white and blue sapphire on a pure platinum band.  Blue is my favorite color and platinum is one of the rarest metals. I looooove it so much!

I leave for Seoul in exactly a week.  The only bad thing is that instead of thinking of my trip I keep thinking or planning a wedding.  I really just want to enjoy my self and then worry about the logistics of a six month marriage counseling as required by the Catholic church (eeek), and the logistics of hauling family members spread out across three continents.  Okay Mrs Mauritz, this is where you come in.  Expect some panicky e-mails from me pretty soon.  Anyone who has advice on multicultural weddings please shoot me an e-mail.  I will take any help you can give.

I will try to keep blogging while abroad and keep you posted about all the joys of monasteries, Korean food, Jeju Island, markets, folk villages the DMZ, palaces, Blue House … I have a packed itinerary which includes a three-hour Korean language class for a whole week.

I love you guys so much!  Ciao!

11 Responses to “My busy month of May.”

  1. EDJ May 19, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    First!

    Again, congratulations on the wedding and grad! Your ring is unique and clearly well thought out by Turtle. It would seem you have taught him well! Lol.

    Enjoy your trip to Seoul. Of course you have to keep blogging, I wish I could go on a trip and blog about it!

    I am actually attending a multi-cultural wedding next weekend, I will be sure to share what the couple did! Lol and if you need to separate feuding Nigerian relatives or not.

    Enjoy yourself, seriously, this summer seems like it will be fun.

  2. Taynement May 19, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Congratulations! Have a great time in Korea 🙂

  3. Ginger May 19, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    That 6 months wedding course applies in the States too?? na wa.
    sorry, dont know much about intercontinental weddings. My style will be to get my gown hide my head under a pillow…..other things will fall in place on their own 🙂
    Have Seouling fun.

  4. Ibhade May 19, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    graduated? yay!! double blessings! have a safe and fu trip to korea 😀

  5. Neefemi May 19, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Be safe ma and congrats again

  6. Myne Whitman May 20, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    Graduation and a proposal, that is fantastic! Congrats girl, I’m happy for you. And I’m sure everything will work out fine. Enjoy Seoul and remember to share pictures. 🙂

  7. dalu May 20, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    Congratulations girl, All d best!

  8. one3snapshot May 23, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    OMG! Congratulations!!!! on both counts 🙂
    yayyyyy! for wedding planning 🙂

  9. culturesoup May 24, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    Wow, sounds like a jam packed month you had there. Congratulations!

  10. Amy May 26, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Feel free to email me at mauritzfamily@gmail.com with any panicky questions 🙂 I would love to help ya!!!!

  11. mj July 12, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    reading your blog is like reading my own life story. from the korea trips to the dislike for diamonds. wow. i thought i was the only one

Leave a Reply

