Just Arrived.

27 May

Hi guys!  Greetings from Seoul!!!  I just arrived a few hours ago and have settled into my studio apartment.  And by studio apartment, i mean a room the size of my walk in closet.  No kidding.  I have no room to do push-ups.  But I am excited.  I am living in a dorm type building with lots of Japanese students.  So far, I have met only one Korean student.  We bonded over noodles and Korean dramas.

My building is right next to a department store.  How convenient.  And speaking of convenient – there are like four 7-elevens on my block alone.  The basement of my building houses a night club (read: half-naked dancing girls), and if you throw a stone, you are bound to hit a restaurant.  I think I am in New York except the signs are written in hangul.

The community kitchen has all the free noodles, eggs, rice and kimchi you can eat.  Which is good cus am on a budget but I intend to treat myself to a nice meal in a restaurant at least once a day.  There is a coffee shop two floors down and it also serves beer9 (yes!).  It is almost 11 pm and students from three universities are roaming the streets in droves.  No one stares at me.  I don’t know if I am relieved or offended.   They must be so used to foreigners.

The flight was not as long as I expected. I think it is partly because I took an ambien and viodin and zonked out.  Korean stewardess are the most efficient bunch I have ever seen.  I swear ever five minutes they tried to shove pretzels, sandwiches, alcohol, water, orange juice and whatever else they carried in their carts. 

I had my very first kimchi on the plane.  Spicy and soooooo good. 

Tomorrow, I will explore my neighborhood and try to buy a small fan and room freshner.  I don’t like the idea of sleeping mere inches away from my toilet.

I will try to keep you guys updated.

7 Responses to “Just Arrived.”

  1. Mamuje May 27, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    It must be exciting….Yay and I am love Korean food, anyway enjoy yourself and take loads of pictures and let us know what else you get up to. Please take a picture of the local beer for me. Pretty please 🙂

  2. Ginger May 27, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    “No one stares at me. I don’t know if I am relieved or offended” . you are not serious…

    Looks like you are going too have plenty stories to tell + pictures. cant wait. have fun!

  3. Ms Catwalq May 29, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Check out Episode 2 of Growing Up Naija: Boarding House
    Share, comment and subscribe

  4. Amy May 30, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Your going to have the experience of a lifetime! I’m looking forward to following your journey!

  5. EDJ May 31, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Yay you’re finally there! Looking forward to reading about the trip! Are you going to stop by the “club” downstairs? Lol.

  6. Vera Ezimora June 7, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Have I been gone that long? Korea? A proposal? Noodles? What is going on??????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    P.S. Congratulations, Rosie!!!

    *dancing*

  7. Myne Whitman June 8, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    Make sure to have loads of fun!

Leave a Reply

