I am not a typical…

8 Jul

…bride.

These last few weeks have made me realize that.  I know I want to BE married.  I just don’t want to GET married.  The planning is stressful, the emotional involvement has already given me a couple of meltdowns and the money involved just makes me plain nauseous.

Right now there are so many factions involved in this shinding that after my panic attack, I had a moment of clarity.  I know EXACTLY what i want.  I want to go to a beach somewhere south of the border and enjoy colorful drinks at a bar just inches from the water.  I want to enjoy a massage the morning of my wedding in a room with palm fronds bristling as the wind blows and the crashes of the waves on the shore lull me to sleep.  I want to wake up on the morning of my wedding in a room with a patio door that overlooks the ocean.  I want a fun, small celebration that won’t bankrupt me or my fiance.

I want to go to the U. S. Virgin Islands.  Or Jamaica.  Or Aruba.  Or Puerto Rico …you get the gist.

Problems is, not many people are listening.  I am afraid of what the consequences will be.  I don’t want to walk away from what could be the rest of my life.

 

7 Responses to “I am not a typical…”

  1. BBB July 8, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    sweetheart, its your wedding, key word, “your”, do what you want, at the end of the day, its your marriage, and you want to be happy

  2. Ginger July 9, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    Lucid!!! jie break there. What? Please dont let this people give you headache abeg. It needs toughness and I am sure you have it, please draw your plans with hubby. present it to your family and STICK by it. people tend to forget that living in Yankee is not a bed of roses. Don’t let them forget…

  3. M July 9, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    I feel the same.. But at the end of the day there’s this African mentality which prevent your wedding day from being about you.. But its all about YOU! so do what you like! 🙂

  4. Tee July 9, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    You and Turtle hang in there….ok?

    *hugs*

  5. taynement July 10, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    As much as it is her day, and in a perfect world it would be just as you want it, there are two people getting married and they’d have to be on the same page. Hang in there Lucid and hope everything works out for the best.

  6. Nice Anon July 12, 2011 at 2:06 am #

    Planning a wedding is hard. A lot of work and needs compromise. When it comes to money however you can only do what you can afford. So don’t make any rash decisions. Sit down and explain your side without being emotional about it. There HAS to be a middle ground somewhere. Find it and work things through. It is well.

  7. one3snapshot July 21, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    hang in there sweetie…but please DON’T elope. I want to see pictures (even if your faces will be hidden).

Leave a Reply

