Crazy Coupon Lady

25 Jul

I am new to this whole couponing experience and I tell you, it is exciting and mentally challenging.  To me at least.  Turtle just rattles off mathematical computations about BOGO prices, and brand name vs. store brand  prices.  Whatever.  I clip em, he computes.

My first week of couponing, I felt like I was walking like a toddler.  I conservatively used only manufacturer’s coupons and only bought things I needed.  Overall, I saved $15 off my $60 grocery bill.  After that, I got more aggressive and started buying more items.  I don’t want to be one of those hoarders on extreme couponing on TLC so I made up rules:

  • Everything has to fit in whatever closet space we have
  • Clip mfg coupons first and store coupons for only the stores you usually visit at least once a week
  • Focus on coupons for brands you use and comparable brands with similar quality on items you use anyway e.g. dish detergent, bleach
  • Buy non-perishables over perishables – if you can’t freeze it, don’t buy unless you will eat it during the week
  • The total price of what item you buy has to be cheaper than the cheapest brand e.g. Clorox Bleach on sale vs. Great Value Bleach regular
  • Leave the math to Turtle

I clip coupons for everything whether or not I need it and give them away if I know they will expire before I use them. I don’t mind, I have made many friends this way with the coupons I hand out. I clip coupons for car repairs and maintenance (got a free oil change this way), groceries, restaurants (buy one get one free entrees only), carpet care etc and arrange them all in envelopes according to expiration dates.

It is addictive and I swear you will never pay full price for anything once you start couponing.  I went to Ross the other day to get a few capri shorts to wear since the weather had been unbearably hot lately.  Although the prices are already low, I made a beeline for the clearance rack and bought two brand name capris at $4.99 and $11.99.   I just could not bear paying full price for regular priced Ross items – and they’re cheap already marked down from full retail!  Blame the coupon mentality.

Yeah, I know, I am now the Crazy Coupon Lady.  Being from a “third world” nation and living in a “first world” recession – I wonder why I did not start this sooner.

11 Responses to “Crazy Coupon Lady”

  1. Ginger July 25, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    I can see from your tweets in the sidebar that you are really taking this coupon thing way too SERIOUSLY!! lol

    I love the new design. Thank you for bringing the lady’s profile back.

  2. lucidlilith July 25, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    Gurl…people have been laughing at me but am laughing on the inside too. Plus, the they don’t laugh when I give them coupons they use! any way sha, I try not to be too crazy about it that’s why i follow the rules. Thanks for liking the new design. Was not too sure about it…

  3. EDJ July 25, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I am very happy for you that you have discovered couponing. Welcome to the club. If you order stuff online be sure to try retailmenot.com for website coupons, also for your android you should get these apps: GroceryiQ and The Coupons App, both are quite useful!

    Also glad to see you’re truly practicing for married life. Very soon you’ll be carpooling and attending soccer matches 🙂

  4. BBB July 26, 2011 at 12:19 am #

    i really should try couponing
    where do u cut the coupons out of? newspapers???

  5. Vera Ezimora July 26, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    Lemme know when you find the husband coupon please.

  6. one3snapshot July 26, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    love the redesign! i buy fresh produce and there aren’t that many coupons out there for that. I do not step into macy’s without a coupon though! my pastor’s wife taught me that.

  7. Tomi July 26, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    Love the change in template! Not into coupons, your post is pushing me to start:)

  8. taynement July 27, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    Then you would be a fan of the coupon book. It lasts a year and has coupons for every thing you can think of.

  9. Tee July 27, 2011 at 5:15 am #

    Love the new template and catchphrase

    I am a coupon addict in the making…Taynement biko where do I get this coupon book and for which country?

    • one3snapshot July 27, 2011 at 10:21 am #

      @Tee if you’re in the U.S look out for “zoo books”, people are always selling it as fundraisers for school groups and church events/ boys & girls scouts etc.

  10. LohiO July 28, 2011 at 12:30 am #

    Love the new look. i want to start couponing!

Leave a Reply

