Igbo Language Challenge (Oy Vey!)

27 Jul

I decided (against instinct) to unofficially enter Sugabelly’s Language Challenge.  I love my language but I am so out of practice.  Besides, my dialect is too provincial.  It is like walking around with a giant tatoo of a map of my hometown.  Well sha, after like a hundred tries, I finally got a decent recording.  Enjoy!

Transcript:

Hi Blogville people, I salute you.  My name is LucidLilith, but some people call me Rosie.  If you call me Rosie, I’ll answer and anyone who wants to call me LucidLilith, I’ll answer to that too.

My mother is from Ekwulobia, my father is from Isuanioma.

My Igbo sounds like Onitsha Igbo but my Igbo is not very strong.  It may be because I live abroad.  What I ought to do is to find someone I can speak Igbo with everyday.

Until next time,

Goodbye.

11 Responses to “Igbo Language Challenge (Oy Vey!)”

  1. Ginger July 27, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Your Mom is Ekwulobia? That’s near my village Nri. We are neighbors 🙂

    Meanwhile Babe, it aint playing oo!!! Upload again.

  2. lucidlilith July 28, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    I just checked it and it played fine…I don’t know what is wrong….try again?

    • one3snapshot July 30, 2011 at 7:56 am #

      it didn’t work for me at first but it did after I refreshed your page.

    • Ginger July 30, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      Link is alright now.
      Haba, babe, your Igbo is perfectly alright na. Though you spoke it with such millitary speed and brevity lol. biko, I like.

      • lucidlilith August 1, 2011 at 11:30 am #

        Military speed and brevity…ha ha. Problem was that I had made so many versions and was very tired of recording and re-recording … I was ready to quit.

  3. Chinwe July 28, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    Are you for real that your mum is from Ekwulobia? I’m from Ekwulobia too and I read your blog all the time. By the way your Igbo was on point but it sounded like more central igbo than Onitsha igbo. You didn’t even sound like you don’t speak Igbo all the time. Girl we need to connect offline fast…. 🙂

    • lucidlilith August 1, 2011 at 11:31 am #

      Central ke? Ha ha, I don’t think so..I think maybe I over-rehearsed it. Yes oh, momsie is from Ekwulobia. Maybe we are even related sef who knows.

  4. one3snapshot July 30, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    Your igbo is on point na! You’re just trying to make Vera feel better 🙂 What state are you from?

    • lucidlilith August 1, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      Anambra kwenu!

  5. Nice Anon July 31, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    LOL nna eh the way wey you carry speak as if you were standing at attention and then someone beckoned you to be very fast about it. You sound like someone I know sha. Nice one

    • lucidlilith August 1, 2011 at 11:33 am #

      This military style sef…I don’t hear it. Well sha, Ginger’s Igbo was like she is a radio hostess…all sunshine and smiles! I was afraid of messing up.

Leave a Reply

