Kids these days …

9 Sep

I am an enthusiastic couponer.  I love getting deals.  In fact, my new motto is, “never buy anything at full price.”  So imagine my displeasure when I printed off a coupon for a $10 off any purchase over $25 at JC Penney (where I got sale items – three Worthington’s Knit Tops worth $30 on sale for $11.99 each).  With the deal I paid only $25 with the tops.

*reminds self to stop blabbering*

Anyhue, I gave a co-worker one of my coupons, which he used to buy five polo shirts for sale online for $5 each.  Just as I gave the coupon to my co-worker, one of his interns (a college freshman) started to laugh at me.  I was not amused.  I said, “you think clipping coupons is funny?”  He kept laughing so I said, “well, you are still in college so enjoy yourself while you can.”

He asked, “What do you mean?”

I said, “Well, right now all you have to worry about is writing papers, attending classes and getting drunk on weekends.  After you graduate, you will have to face the real world, get an entry-level job with entry-level pay, buy a car, get insurance, buy gas, groceries, internet service, pay rent, get health and dental insurance, overpriced cable, electricity…”

By this time, he is no longer laughing and his pearly white teeth is slowly fading from view

“…maybe water and sewage, cellphone, get and maintain good credit, pay for your own clothes … “

I noticed that he was beginning to look really, really worried, then I decided to go for the kill.

“…and this is all before you get married … and don’t get me started on dating and wedding expenses…but anyhue…you get married and start having children, now pay for their feeding, clothing, health care costs, save for their college and your retirement… by which then…” I pause dramatically, “coupons will begin to look very attractive to you.”

I patted him on his shoulder and walked away with a smug smile.  Someone learned something that day.

7 Responses to “Kids these days …”

  1. Neefemi September 9, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    Lol, pls where do you get coupons other than paper clipping it by the way? I am too lazy to paper clip, but i could really do without paying for full price for groceries cos let’s just say broke is an understatement.

    Hoping wedding plans are going well…

    • lucidlilith September 12, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

      Hmmm, okay….couponing takes months to get the hang of it. Besides newspapers, each store has sales, and some have their own coupons, online some websites will give you printable coupons e.g coupons.com. A great site that gives a lot of information is krazycouponlady.com.

  2. Ginger September 9, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    I am surprised he didnt just lie down and die. you re wicked girl! I wouldnt mind me some coupons but i am not sure how its done in this parts

  3. taynement September 11, 2011 at 2:13 am #

    hahaha meanie. love it

  4. coolprincee September 11, 2011 at 2:36 am #

    U nailed him….payback is such a bitch

  5. JustDoyin September 14, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    lol. Poor boy – I can imagine the look of “fear” on his face by the time you finished the run down of expenses…but he needed some telling.

Leave a Reply

