A Late Food Friday

3 Oct

A few weeks ago, I decided that couponing was making us lazy cooks.  So in a bid to help us eat fresher home-made meals, I decided it was time to go to a Farmer’s Market. We braved the I-285 traffic and went to the Dekalb Farmers Market.  I filled our shopping cart with fresh vegetables and seafood.  I bought octopus, squid, Spanish mackerel and shrimp.

When I asked around for snails, I was shocked to find they had none.

“I mean, if there was any place where snails should be sold, it should be here.  Look at that lane, I can’t pronounce half the shelled animals they have they but they have no snails?!” I wailed to Turtle who I could see was trying to find a way to distract me from my obsession with finding snails.  He pulled me away from the live crabs bin and towards vegetables where after a few minutes I was excited to see fresh habanero and tatashe (spicy bell pepper).  I also bought a bag of jasmine rice for $20.

“I think it is time for me to down grade from Uncle Ben’s,” I said to him.

“Look at the size of that bag!”  He exclaimed. “What are we, Asians?’

“I pay $7 for a small bag of Uncle Bens.  This is about 10 times the size of Uncle Ben’s.  I am saving money.”

“Well, it should last us all year,” he said.  I knew he was worried of eating rice all the time.

Still on my shopping high, I whipped up a batch of moimoi , adding all the trimmings – corned beef, sardine, eggs, onions, tatashe, habanero, palm and vegetable oil …  I did not mind the hour-long process of washing the beans or blending the ingredients.  It felt so therapeutic to do something so familiar and requires painstaking steps.

 

Then I realized I forgot to get baking pans.  I fashioned small aluminum bags and poured the moimoi puree in them.

I also made Turtle his first mackerel.  (Hard to believe I grew up eating that stuff a lot. Now all I eat is Tilapia).  He loved it but complained about the bones.  Spoilt Americans.  He can’t deal with fish bones????  Any hue, I showed him how to avoid the bones and how to detect and spit out bones while chewing.

Yesterday, Turtle made a whole pot of pasta sauce from scratch. Tomatoes, peppers, ground beef and all.  And fried some catfish. Now our fridge is busting with food.  At this rate, I have to scour craigslist for a mini freezer. Or register for one. *wink*

7 Responses to “A Late Food Friday”

  1. Taynement October 3, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    waaaah! I wanna be part of the LucidTurtle household. I’d never have to lift a finger in the kitchen.

  2. Ginger October 4, 2011 at 2:48 am #

    All that food for two people? and Ethiopian kids are starving……smh. Can you guys adopt me for a month pls?

    Wait o, what fish is mackerel? Same as what we call titus?

    • EDJ (@egodujour) October 5, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

      LOL I think Titus is just the brand of canned sardines. The fish is called sardine which is actually separate from mackerel. Mackerels are the ones that sometimes look blue and have the stripes that kinda make them look like zebras. Sardines are tiny fish (like the ones in the Titus cans).

      Your marine biology lesson for the month. Free of charge 😀

  3. Tee October 4, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    Nice!…Why didn’t you show us the finished moi-moi na

    Oh the joy of fresh-cooked food…yum!

    Lol @ Tayne and Ginger…

  4. jollof October 5, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    So you like snails too, huh? I like mine peppered with a side of ice-cold palm wine…mmm. I thought you were going to show the finished product (the moi moi) but that was creative on the foil packaging. Just yesterday I also decided to go all healthy and buy fresh foodstuff – still ended up buying tinned tomatoes, tinned tuna and tinned hotdogs. I can almost smell that fried fish from here…roasted ripe plantain would go nicely with that. Enjoy 😀

  5. EDJ (@egodujour) October 5, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    We always use the foil at my house no baking pans.

    By the way as you are posting these Food Fridays I will have to visit you in Atlanta for like a month to learn all I can. The other day Alpa Chino was giving me a list of things he does and does not like to eat. I am worried I will fail in any “co-habitating cookery” I attempt so I will need lessons. Afterall right now if I burn the rice I am the only one that has to worry about it. In fact I will need lessons on co-habitating, period.

  6. mpb October 8, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    That food looks scrumptious! Question? When you fry fish, how do you season it and for how long? Thanks. I will be checking this space for your reply or you can email me at astralpeck@yahoo.com if you get a chance 🙂

Leave a Reply

