Things I have been up to…

2 Nov

I spent five days in Austin, Texas attending a conference of web geeks.  Honestly, I was a tad bored.  I expected to be wowed by the city but it was just kinda bleh.  The view from my room was fantastic though.

And boy was I glad I stowed 10 cans of yingi in my luggage.  They don’t sell any yingi in Texas.  Oh the humanity!!!

I thought getting to see the famous bat colony would be cool but it turns out I can’t stand the smell of bat poop.

As we crossed the bat bridge, we stumbled upon a proposal in progress.  Romance is in the air.


We dined at one of the hundreds of mexican restaurants downtown.  I tried to stop my colleague from taking a photo of me in my “Fela Original Sufferhead one3snapshot tee.

Meanwhile, I think this stuffed avocado is simply the best Mexican dish I have ever tasted.

On a random note, while geocaching (google it) we strolled by a bunch of people moving around on segways.  I. Want. One.

I don’t understand geocaching but apparently, it is something bored white people do.  I just tagged along to sight see.  These are my colleagues looking for a geocache on the bridge.

And signing one…

 

Austin has dozens of sculpted cows.  This one is one of my favorites.

We passed by Coyote Ugly on dirty 6th.  I would later return to dance on the bar the following night.

Last weekend, Turtle and I carved our first pumpkin.  One of the many American traditions I will never understand.

For a very late Food Friday,  I made fried rice and fried beef.

 

 

 

9 Responses to “Things I have been up to…”

  1. Ginger November 2, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    That first pic of Austin is so scenic! I’m loving the colorful Texan cow. We have a landmark cow in Durham (the dun cow) yea it looks as duh as its name.

    I’m guessing the guy got a yes. He looks too sure….. and happy. *wiping happy tears here*

  2. one3snapshot November 2, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    OH Yeahhh!!!!!! for you rocking the Fela tee!!
    I thought Austin has this street that is awesome for bar crawling. Can’t remember what it’s called but it’s supposed to be like Adams Morgan in DC.

    • lucidlilith November 4, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      Yeah, it is 6th Street. Or Dirty 6th as the locals call it.

  3. Tee November 2, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    LL Please I want your fried rice recipe 😀

    • lucidlilith November 3, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

      send me an email lucidlilith at gmail

  4. Afronuts November 3, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    interesting photos.

    Hey…how does yingi taste? (No mind me and my bushness oh!)

    lol…Me too can never undastand the carving of a pumpkin…ain’t that a waste of fresh fruit?

    Gosh! Your fried rice & meat just made me crave for that particular dish! You did it so well even the pix makes your mouth water!

    • lucidlilith November 3, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

      Yingi tastes a little lighter than heineken. It is also cheaper but with great quality.

  5. Ifeoma (@iphyigbogurl) November 16, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    You stayed at Hyatt Regency right?….I know that view from anywhere.
    but yea, Austin is fun, depending on who you ask, some hate it, some love it…
    I live here, so it’s become quite bleh for me…
    I want to try that Yingi one of these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

