Random Things and Occupy B*tches!

18 Nov

This week has been a smorgasbord of things.

I got into the Occupy Wallstreet Movement.  Mine is a one-person occupation.

Okay, so, I closed a credit card account because it started to charge me $69 in annual fees.  I closed the card two months ago and paid it off, only to receive a $1 fee for something or the other this month.  I called customer service and to the guy’s credit, he did try to waive it but the “system” would not let him.  Funny thing is, if I don’t pay the $1, I would get hit with a $20 late fee, so I decided what the heck…. I will pay them.  In pennies.

With a few messages.

Yeah, we da 99 percent b*tches!

Now for my Food Friday drama…

While making my beef bouguignon last weekend, I cut off the tip of my thumb, nail and all with a potato slicer.  There was blood every where.  After Turtle bandaged me up, he put a glove on my hand and he ushered me back into the kitchen as in, “I aint starving because you got careless”:

 

Anyhue, the dish came out sublime.  Kinda like a reverse coq-au-vin.  Turtle looooves this!  He rushed out the next day to buy eggs noodles to eat the stew with.  I prefer boiled potatoes.

I discovered a cheaper way to make oat fufu.  Rather than paying $7.99 at the African Store for a bag, I go to Walmart and get a couple of Great Value Oatmeal for $1.58  each and grind into powder with my industrial strength blender.

A pot of boiling water and some stirring later, voila!  Fufu is ready for soup which happens to be nsala this week.

That’s all guys.  Tomorrow Turtle is taking me to see Breaking Dawn.  He is not going sober.  His words, not mine.  I don’t blame him sha.  This is the part where Bella gives birth to a vampire baby.  If you read the book, you would realize it was not pretty childbirth. Shoot, maybe I shouldn’t be sober either…

Okay now am rambling.

Have a happy thanksgiving ya’ll.  Remain blessed.

 

10 Responses to “Random Things and Occupy B*tches!”

  1. EDJ November 18, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    LOL @ mailing them pennies. Good for you! I’ve never actually tried oat fufu, though I know its supposed to be healthier than the regular stuff.

    Also, my sis and I will probably go see Breaking Dawn tonight. The thing about Twilight is that it creeps up on you and you end up thinking, “its really not that bad”. Either that or I have lowered my expectations for the movies after reading the books. Lol

  2. Ginger November 18, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    Turtle looooves this! He rushed out the next day to buy eggs noodles to eat the stew with. I prefer boiled potatoes.

    I dont know why, but when i read ..He rushed out the next day..my vampirish mind completed the sentence as ‘to buy a sharper potato slicer to cut more thumb off’. maybe the food tasted so good cos of your cut finger.
    you mailed em pennies? deserved and good for ya!

    • lucidlilith November 28, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

      Oh gosh…noooo!!!
      I actually dumped out the entire batch of potatoes and started from scratch.
      It cost me like $5 to mail those pennies…but I had to make a point jo.

  3. Ginger November 18, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Meanwhile, I’ve been on the oat meal/porridge oats program since. yum yum. err, i even do it the lazier way, microwave. desired quantity of oats, adequate water. 5-7 mins of heat. bring out after 3 mins to turn then back again. Somehow microwave na-eme ka o roo aro (dont think i know the English word for this 😛

    • lucidlilith November 28, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

      Wait – as in draw-ey? Hmmmm. I should experiment with microwaving oatmeal. Girl, I tell you, there is nothing like guilt free eating oatmeal and egusi.

  4. lucidlilith November 21, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    Dang…I misspelled “occupy” on my hater note. Oh well, they deserve a good misspelling…..

  5. Myne Whitman November 25, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    Haha…you misspelt occupy. But good on them with the pennies, that’s what they do, right, count pennies, pscheww…

    Ahhh..hope your hand is better now?

    • lucidlilith November 28, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

      Thanks dear, it is almost all healed up now. Yes …misspellings will be the death of me. I hate them but they pop up now and again.

  6. Amy November 27, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    You sent them all those pennies?! That’s what they deserve, lol! Anyway that stew looks delish! How’d you two like Breaking Dawn? Jonathon and I saw it on Thanksgiving and I liked it! He thought it was so-so, but ya better believe I will be dragging him to see Breaking Dawn part 2 🙂

    • lucidlilith November 28, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      I really liked it! I think the director did a good job… I was a bit worried about how they would pull this off but overall, I’d give it a B plus.

Leave a Reply

