ChimChim Chronicles

2 May

When the latest love of my life was born, I was right there to welcome him into the world, although the look he gave me was along the lines of:

 “Is this what this entire ruckus was about?  Abegi put me back in there! I need to nap.”

ChimChim has a very expressive face.  The really hilarious one I saved for his future.  These I want to share with you guys.

“Yo.  Yo. Yo. Yo, ma.  Where my boobies at?”

He finds my camera annoying but did not hesitate to pose.

“Auntie, get my good side.”

I love ChimChim to bits.  Every day after work, I wash my hands, change into my house clothes and we hang out in my room watching TV and having conversations known to just the two of us.   He calms me down after a long day at work.  When my stress level goes up, I snuggle up right next to him and watch him sleep and the world seems okay again.  *sniff* I miss him so much.  And to think I wanted a girl not a boy.  I mean face it; men do grow up to be assholes.  And my whole purpose in life as his aunt and godmother is to make sure he grows up to be a good man. And not provide an Ivy League college education like my sister says. *eye roll*

In my previous post, I mentioned how children teach you about the small things in life.  Well, I took a day off to hang out with my sister and ChimChim.  We also had to run errands concerning the baby so I thought we could squeeze in shopping and lunch.  Things did not work out because we got stuck on the famous I-75 Atlanta traffic.  I was running late for a haircut appointment and had to call my girl to let her know I may not make it.  Finally, as we got off the exit, with 10 minutes to get to my appointment, ChimChim let it rip.  And it was not a small one.  It was a yellowish, loud, burpy, load of baby poop.  I pulled over and wound down the window while mom cleaned him up.

“Really Chim?” I asked as I gasped for air. “You could not wait 10 MORE MINUTES???”

My sister was laughing.  “You should learn to change diapers.”

“No.  I like my babies clean and sweet smelling.  Like fresh sheets at a Hilton.”

Five minutes later we were off again.  I got my haircut and we drove home.  Oh wait, on the way home, ChimChim decided he had had enough of being in the car seat for hours so he started to cry.  Non-stop.  Since I had to make a brief stop at the liquor store, I took him out of the seat and took him with me.  Everyone in the store cooed and aaaahed at the cute bumpkin.  The cashier even helped me take my 24 pack of Yeungling to the car so I could hold the baby.

As we pulled out of the lot and headed home, I turned around and asked my sister, “Who the heck takes a three week old baby into a liquor store?”

“As I watched you walk away with my child, I asked myself the same thing.”

12 Responses to “ChimChim Chronicles”

  1. solomonsydelle May 2, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    Baby’s first trip to the liquor store ehn? Na wa, I guess you’ll be the fun aunty sha! Congrats to your family! Chimchim is a sweetie pie. “Auntie, get my good side.” …lol!

    • lucidlilith May 5, 2012 at 2:10 am #

      I was only tryna comfort him oh. He was more enamored with the computer screen on the check out lane … but you are right. How many babies can boast of being in a likker store befor they are 4 weeks?

  2. sugabelly May 2, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Omg!!! Congratulations!!!!

  3. Ifeoma (@FizzyTatcher) May 2, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    awww! congratulations on the new addition to your family!
    Cute baby!
    Liquor store? LIKE A REAL G! lol

  4. Myne Whitman (@Myne_Whitman) May 2, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    He looks so new in the first picture 🙂

    You guys sure had fun.

  5. shonavixen May 3, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    Congrats!!!

  6. one3snapshot May 3, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    LOL!!! the last line had me rolling!!! I miss him for you too. Babies are a joy!

    • lucidlilith May 5, 2012 at 2:11 am #

      Yeah, it was a hind sight thing. We had no choice. He would dot stop bawling. And boobs did not work.

  7. Dosh May 3, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    Where my boobies at? lmho! This is so sweet, I’m really happy for your family

    • lucidlilith May 5, 2012 at 2:12 am #

      MEN that babie when from formula for the first two day to breast milk and tripped in size, I kid you not. I am all for breast feeding now!

  8. BBB May 4, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    :), if i didnt already know, id think he was yours, he is so lucky to have an aunty that loves him so much

    • lucidlilith May 5, 2012 at 2:14 am #

      Yeah, currently I am having a baby fever. Turtle seems to notice that look in my eyes and he jejely makes his way to the couch. No fear. Bodi no be fire wood abi? Worst scenaria, my corset gets tighter than I planned eh?

Leave a Reply

