What? I already feel …

25 Jun

…married.

That’s what I told my boss this morning when he asked if I was ready for my last week at work as a single gal.

In all honesty, a lot has been hitting me lately.  It finally hit me that I have never really minded being married to a white guy and being part of an all white family until I learned that none of them knew or really wanted to do the “Wedding Wobble.”  Not even my lily white DJ and fiance’s high school mate knew about it.  In an email he said:

“In all my 200 weddings I have never heard of the Wedding Wobble.”  Is it a regional thing?”

I replied:

“No, it’s a black thing.”

I had a brief second of doubt as to whether I wanted to be married to a white guy who whenever I picture him doing the wedding wobble, I collapse into giggles.  He dances like my dad.  My dad cannot dance, but thinks he can.  Oh Lord, I will spend my entire time on the floor laughing.

It suddenly hit me that people will soon start wondering why this Nigerian chick has a German name.  Especially at work.  I mean really German.  Not Gewurztraminer German … but really close.  And his mother’s maiden name?  Oh thank the good lord for his small mercies  …  let’s just say it ends with ………….steiner.

It  just hit me yesterday that I will never have “my” anything.  We went to Target yesterday to buy floor lamps. We have  been sprucing up the place in preparation of my parents’ arrival.  I asked at check out if I could have a frappuccino.  He said no and then gave me a lecture on trivial spending.

I did not say a word but quietly fumed at the nerve he had.  This is a man who last Friday, signed me up for Sirius.  That is $100 per year plus equipment.  I don’t need or want Satellite radio.  I have my favorite fm stations but somehow he got it because we talked about it and “we” agreed.  On the up side, I can now borrow the mustang whenever I want and not hear him bitch about not being able to listen to Howard Stern.

It just hit me, that I can’t wait to get married so everyone will leave us the fuck alone and move on to the next couple.

Marriage?  I can’t wait.  This should be interesting.

6 Responses to “What? I already feel …”

  1. tobystic June 25, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    wow! Just wow!….Good stuff..God loves varieties. I love varieties. Now who are U that isnt? 🙂

  2. Taynement June 25, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

    They’ll never leave you alone. The next thing will be kids.

    What is the wedding wobble? Is it the general Wobble song? I didn’t know it was called Wedding Wobble if it is.

    glad to hear your parents can make it

  3. Ginger June 25, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    So your parents’ visa came through yay!!!!
    You guys will probably have two anniversaries. Pre wedding anniversary/post wedding anniversary 🙂
    Wedding is almost here!! I can smell your bouquet

  4. lucidlilith June 25, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

    From your lips to God’s ears. No it is not yet through but we are waiting to hear from them today or tomorrow in our expedited request. But I am still excited about the big day though.

  5. LohiO June 25, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

    Wow it seems like yesterday you started writing about this wedding plans! Happy for you! Have fun!!!

  6. GG July 3, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    If the Frappuccino request annoyed you, wait until you’re married, lol. Just make sure you enjoy your day. Take in the sights and sounds of everything around you. And plan future Frappuccino requests very carefully 😀

Leave a Reply

