Are we Cavemen?

16 Aug

Linda Ikeji asked a question:  Does a husband have absolute power over his wife’s body?

The answers my fellow country men and women gave made me gag on my environmentally friendly DASANI bottled water.

This dude AdelajaAdeoye said…

WAO!!! WHAT A QUESTION, WHEN A MAN PAYS A DAOWRY FOR A WIFE, HE PAYS FOR THE ABSOLUTENESS OF THE WOMAN NONI. THE WOMAN NOW BECOMES HIS PRIVATE PROTERTY SO HE CAN MANOVER HER BODY AS HE PLEASES ANYDAY AND ANYTIME.

Dear Lord.  I only hope he is joking.  Another great thinker:

mvp said…

y not? he does have full control over his wife’s body, but if the woman feels she has a rite 2 decide what she wants, then thats a licence to look else where for what he wants

Wait, what?  Cheating is now permissible?

And it gets worse…

Anonymous hollicom blogzine said…A husband has absolute right over the body of his wife and the wife on the other hand must release her body to her man.Once a man and a woman are joined together in wedlock the body of the woman totally belongs to her man.

Which way Nigeria oh!!!!!!!!!

Y2jerric said…A husband has the right over his wife’s body { in a respective manner } . Some men can be beasts u know

As I keep scrolling, I begin to get speechless.Blogger

Obinna Ozoalor said…I’m not saying this because i’m a man, but YES of course he has absolute control over her body because he paid for it and it’s his matrimonial right.

At this time, I get a horrible feeling in my stomach.  No, I did not need to go to the bathroom. I needed to puke.

Then I saw a light at the end of the tunnel when some common sense came back.

AnonymousAnonymous said…

My Goodness. Are you people for real? Even women are saying yes. Does Marriage mean you are a sex slave? No one has any right over any other person’s body. That is slavery. Sex should always be consensual. Always. People you own your body. Married or not.

And more common sense followed

Anonymous said…What kinda question is that? Of course not! Women re human beings not a piece of tool

And I felt a bit better…

Anonymous said…

He doesn’t have absolute right to her body. You can’t force your wife to have sex of she doesn’t want to. That’s rape! She’s ur partner and not your property. Bitch!

And more people, mostly anonymous continued…

Anonymous said…

A woman owns her own body. by marrying the man she has decided to give herself to him not to sell herself to him to own completely. so if for example the man wants to have sex, she has the right to say no if she is not up to it. if he forces himself on her, although she is his wife, it is still statutory rape.

(I think she meant marital rape, statutory is for under-aged victims who cannot legally consent)

What say you?  Are you for this caveman idea that a husband owns the wife’s body?  Are we as Nigerians really as forward thinking as we want to believe.  As for me, if Turtle comes near me when I am not in the mood ehn…

Signing out!

8 Responses to “Are we Cavemen?”

  1. Sugabelly August 16, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    One more reason why I will not be marrying a Nigerian.

  2. Ginger August 17, 2012 at 1:26 am #

    Lol. The exact responses i expected. I am surprised you are surprised 🙂

  3. lohio August 17, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    I ranted about this on twitter after I saw the post and comments that followed!!!! I feel sorry for our people if in 2012 this is how they still value a woman…as a property that is owned!!! Gahhh I was so mad!!! 😦

  4. Mamuje August 18, 2012 at 4:44 am #

    In my place where my bride price will be N80 are they saying that’s what I am worth? Anyway I don’t believe in enslavement but I believe I have a right to his genitals/body/whatever as much as he has a right to mine. End of story.

  5. Amy August 18, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    I wonder how many young Nigerian men would say such a thing out loud. It seems most of those commenters who felt wives are essentially sex slaves to their husbands posted anonymously. If we took the anonymity out of it would they voice their opinions so freely?

  6. pawpawandmango August 20, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    That’s a low-down dirty shame! It’s no wonder women are being abused and murdered by their husbands (who go scot-free) if these are the sort of men they are getting married to. It is both mental AND sexual slavery. Women who believe their bodies are nothing but playthings for their husbands are no doubt in bondage.

  7. cpsingleton42 March 27, 2014 at 1:45 pm #

    I’m not Nigerian, so not sure I count, but WHAT?! Am I reading them correctly?
    Is it some 21st century irony that I’m missing.
    Marriage is a way of telling the world you love each and are devoted to each other, not a licence to lord over someone!
    Well done you for asking the question. Shame on them who treat women as a possession and not an EQUAL PARTNER.

Leave a Reply

