Hump Day at the New Job

14 Nov

So, I am midway through my first week on the job.  It is quite alright.  The people are nice and friendly but not too nosy.  My boss is a hoot.  She reminds me of myself three years ago.  Things here are quite fast paced and the days go by really quickly.  My job involves web content management, social media management and email marketing.  I have been trying to tackle the social media part.  No- this is not about playing around all day on Facebook and Twitter.

This is a serious multi-billion dollar industry.  I almost choked on my cup of tea at some of the quotes I received from companies that provide monitoring, scheduled publishing and analytics.  Like, really? Social media is big business people.  You should know.  You are reading a blog.

The bad part of this job is that I spend so much time online for work that I have little or no time to do my own stuff like blogging and blogsurfing.  So until I get a hang of this thing, I will be in and out for bit on my blog but will definitely lurk around my favorites.

Later.

4 Responses to “Hump Day at the New Job”

  1. Myne Whitman November 14, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    It is a big deal o. Congrats on the new job.

  2. Ginger November 15, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    Congratulations on your new job Lucid.

    I’m yet to understand how income can be made from social media….lol. It still looks like play to me!

    • lucidlilith November 15, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

      Check this: some companies pay social monitoring sites from $500 to $5000 a month minimum to monitor what people are saying their companies on the social landscape. It is part Brand management part reputation management part customer service management. You don’t want a dis-sastisfied customer going on a tirade on facebook about the bad product you sold to them and then not responding to that customer immediately…Big Business, I tell you.

  3. pawpawandmango November 25, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    All the best and congratulations! Love the new look- I haven’t been here in a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

