Let’s Get Digital

23 Jan

This morning, we had a team meeting where the conversation segued into annual checkups and my boss and I – the only females in the room – talked about how men were so afraid of doctors and getting checked for routine issues.  We talked about how women have to endure invasive pap smears, ultrasounds, and other prodding procedures every year and how men needed to suck it up and have their prostrates checked.

One particular guy was adamant about allowing anyone back there.

“I am 36.  I have four years before I have to worry about that stuff.”

We tried to convince him that if it was recommended, he should consider getting a prostrate exam.

“My last visit, I had my female doctor tell me that I should get my prostrate checked and when I told her I did not want to, she told me it was easy because it was digital.  So I undressed and waited around while she got ready.  I only got worried when after she put on her gloves and lubricated her fingers because I did not see any machine around that I thought would be used for the procedure.  I was like, ‘what are you doing?  I thought you said it was a digital procedure?’ and she said, ‘yes, digital…’ and wiggled her index and middle fingers.  I was like, ‘hell, no’ and got out of there.”

Prostrate

We were laughing so hard we had to end the meeting. I am never going to see the word “DIGITAL” the same way again.

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Let’s Get Digital”

  1. Sting January 23, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

    This is exactly why they tell doctors to speak in lay man’s terms always. A major emphasis is placed on that in my school. Digits= fingers, but to an average person that’s not the first thing that would come to mind. I don’t blame the guy.

    I had a good laugh out of this.

  2. Ginger January 24, 2013 at 6:32 am #

    lool! I feel the guy’s chagrin, digital indeed!

  3. one3snapshot February 6, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

    ROTFLOL!!!!

  4. jollof February 11, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    LOL! I would have reacted EXACTLY the same way, ‘What are you doing?!’

    Nice post 🙂

Leave a Reply

